My strange summer discovery: Teens LOVE Perler Beads

by Sonja Somerville, Salem Public Library

perler dispicableIt all started because I needed an activity and we had SO MANY Perler Beads and I was looking for a third station for a craft program. My small stroke of genius was investing a few hours in looking up and printing “teen interest” Perler Bead patterns.

There are hundreds. I found:

  • Dr. Who themes
  • Hello Kitty
  • Minecraft
  • My Little Pony
  • Angry Birds
  • Super Mario
  • Hunger Games
  • Despicable Me
  • Spongebob Squarepants
  • Star Wars

The teens flocked to the table, boys and girls alike. I could hardly pry them away from the table at the end of the night. It was so popular, I trotted it all out again at our End-of-Summer Party where kids were so desperate for access, they were sitting on the floor with their trays of beads and Perler boards just to get in on the fun.

perlers