OYAN Review: Salem Library’s Teen Book Club named to the YALSA Teens’ Top Ten panel

This post is an article from the Winter 2017 issue of the OYAN Review and has been edited slightly for publication on the blog. It was written by Sonja Somerville of the Salem Public Library.

The logo for YALSA's Teens' Top Ten listSalem Public Library’s Speak Up! Teen Book Club has been selected for the official Teens’ Top Ten panel for 2017-2018. I’m psyched because it was a bit of a complicated application process and they choose just 20 nationwide.

Teens’ Top Ten is an annual project of the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association. Announced each October during Teen Read Week, the list recognizes the best young adult books published in the previous year, as nominated and voted on by teens across the county. In 2016, a total of 28,000 teens voted on the 25 nominated books to narrow the list to the official Teens’ Top Ten. As part of the panel, Speak Up! will play a key part in choosing the list of 25 nominees for the next two years.

I have always been dedicated to promoting the nominees and the final list in the Teen Scene at Salem Public Library, encouraging teens to read and vote. I am enthusiastic about the list because it is teen-driven from nomination to voting. No adults allowed.

But I also noted that the panel from 2015-2016 had just one group from the West Coast (a library in Washington). When I saw that applications were open for 2017-2018, I wanted to apply (1) because it would be cool, and (2) because I hoped to help increase western participation. So I am pleased this panel includes two West Coast groups (mine and a library in California) as well as fellow westerners in Idaho and Arizona.

I’m excited to see how we might impact the results and looking forward to sharing perspectives and opinions with teens across the country.

Also, I’m excited because we will be receiving larger-than-usual numbers of ARCs at our library for the next two years. They estimated 300-500 titles (x3 copies of each) and it’s my job to make sure that at least one teens reads and reviews every title. Did I say excited? I think I misspelled overwhelmed.

We welcome all your comments, articles, photos, book reviews, ideas, and suggestions for future OYAN Review newsletters! Please submit to oyanpublications@gmail.com.